Plural Sax

Sax Octets

Concerto Grosso V (HWV 323)

George Frideric Handel, arr. Peter Guthrie


Handel was chiefly a composer of vocal music and it is well known that many of his concertos, including the "Twelve Grand Concertos" that formed opus 6, were intended as interval music for oratorios.

This arrangement is of four of the six movements of the fifth "Grand" concerto - sometimes known as the "St. Cecilia Concerto" as some thematic material is borrowed from his "Ode for St. Cecilia's Day". The final allegro was also borrowed, this time from an aria in Handel's opera "Imeneo". Arranged in 1998 for the Kimbolton School saxophone group.

 Score Parts
© 1998 Peter Guthrie

If you enjoyed this piece, have comments or corrections, we'd love to hear from you.

This music is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution Licence.